Guatemalan futsal

Never in the wildest dream would i think of playing soccer in Guatemala. Maybe that accounts for why i did not pack my slacks nor a bathing suit (when i have signed up for surfing next weekend in El Salvador!).

Futsal was fun. Played with a bunch of Guatemalans, Americans, an Australian and a Dutch. One of the Americans was a female player and i must say i was pretty surprised at her enthusiasm given that soccer is not that big a sport in the US. She apparently trains with an Antigua team on the weekends. But an Alaskan proved my theories right. She has never even watched an entire soccer match before, let alone play it. But she was a pretty stoic defender.

I played as keeper. Made a couple of good saves, did a few dives (no less on concrete because there ain’t any synthetic pitches in Guatemala man), bruised a few joints and nearly got decapitated as i tried to stop the Brazilians from scoring. We did really well. But i think i may come off as over the top since i was always yelling instructions to my teammates from the back line. It is just typical Workland’s style of soccer. I think the Americans especially, were not accustomed to it. I must have appeared overly-competitive or something. Really i wasn’t! As i play more futsal games, i have come to realize that the goalkeeper is more than just the last man. I also have the responsibility to be the eyes of my teammate, and to dictate to them who to pass to when they are cornered or get stuck in a spot with opponents. I really like how my understanding of the game has evolved.

I am just so happy. I got my dose of soccer this week. But i am starving. Tengo muchos hambre. I only had scrambled eggs for breakfast, missed lunch because i got lost after my Spanish class and was therefore running late for my placement. Then dinner was just empalada-like pastries, and i avoided the frijole (bean) paste, tasted weird. And now after soccer, i am just so hungry, but i am too polite to tell the homestay lady. And it is too dark to venture out on my own. So damn. I am going to bed hungry. And damn, i think i am going to lose weight. I have a penchant for losing weight every time i travel overseas, and i am not impressed with myself.

Leave a Reply

