Calling one’s bluff

Crazy overnight shift.
Jeez we had a lot of sick patients,
And it was down to 2 junior doctors to run the emergency department and cover the wards.

I was the junior of the two junior doctors
So I had some breathing space.

But hell this is making me very nervous
I’m gonna be considered the senior of junior doctors next year
And I think the depth of my clinical experience is inadequate.

I cannot fathom how these other doctors behave as if they deal with this shit all day long
When afterwards they admitted it was their first case too.
Wtf.

I’m gonna have to scratch more ED extra shifts just to give me more experience
Whilst I’m still the junior doctor.
Because next year,
Not only are my patients relying on me,
So will the doctors and the nurses.
Argh.

Bring it on you bastards!!!

Leave a Reply

