Empty nest syndrome

I think my mum is suffering from empty nest syndrome
A second time.

Out of the blue
She tells me she feels she has failed
Because she has not provided enough for us.
Like where is this coming from???

This from a person,
Who single-handedly paid off my medical school fees
And the university fees of my brother.
It’s no small amount I can assure you.

I suspect
It’s because I told her of the Boyfriend
And she now feels she will be relegated to the sidelines.

Shakes head.
Not quite sure what else I can do
Aside from providing loads of reassurance.

Anyhow I will be back in the Homeland
In less than a week
So that should help…

Leave a Reply

