Reaping the benefits of my taxes

So a friend wrote an X-ray referral.
And I impersonated as my own doctor
To get my results.
Seriously I’m not spending $60 to see my general practitioner just to get a result and further management plan.
I have the utmost respect for GPs,
Their work is challenging
But at this point in time,
I think I have slightly more experience in dealing with sports injuries.
Also I was not able to get an appointment till Wednesday
And there’s no way I’m waiting till then to find out if I have a fracture.
Anyway I don’t.
Yay!!!!

After footing an exorbitant price for a mere X-ray
Which my extremely pricey private health insurance does not cover
(Oh because it’s outpatient not inpatient,
Why am I paying top cover again?)
And the government only subsidize less than half
(Now I understand why the emergency departments are chocker block all the time,
Because the services EDs provide are free!)
I rushed to apply for Medicare.

Yup,
When one is young,
One ignores Medicare until one needs it.
Even the person processing my application caught on
And laughed
Because I came straight from the radiology department to the Medicare department.

So X-ray done.
Medicare application done.
Medicare refund done.

And since I was at the mall
I might as well get my eyes checked
Since Medicare pays for the eye exam
(My private health insurance does not)
But I get two frames worth $350 for only $15
Because this time my private health pulls through but Medicare doesn’t.
What intricacy.

So my sight deteriorated.
I noticed it a few months ago when I was playing futsal.
I was missing all the balls
Because I kept misgauging the heights.

Anyway there was this particularly funky red frame that I absolutely love.
But I could not get it.
No one will take me seriously in the hospital.
I WILL GET NO RESPECT.
Maybe the only ones who will approve of this frame
Are the young nurses in my hospital.

Can you imagine an 80year old trusting me?
I already look young enough
And have to walk around with a huge name badge declaring that I’m a doctor
Or everyone else keeps assuming I’m the student,
Including the locum consultant.
Sighs.

So I settled on the same frame in navy blue,
Which was a notch down in intensity.
Really like it.
Can’t wait to get my new specs in two weeks!

Now to arrange for a dental appointment!

Leave a Reply

